top of page
Search

8/2/19

Carter notch hut to Madison spring hut- A great day of hiking and a great day to hike. The weather was perfect. I started my day with a huge hut breakfast. I’d promised myself I’d eat light but after oatmeal, coffee, peaches, bacon, eggs and blueberry pancakes I guess I didn’t hold to it. I needed the calories after all I climbed back out of carter notch hut and through the wildcats then up and up and up and over mount Madison at 5351 feet. That, plus two 4000 foot peaks made for a lot of ups and downs. My favorite hiking boots are on life support after today. I managed to scrounge duck tape and I hope they will make it the next 75 miles. If not, I guess I’ll be hiking in sandals. Tomorrow should be another great day. It’s a short hike up and over Mount Washington, at 6288 feet, then down to the Lake in the Clouds hut for my last night of home cooked foot and a real mattress for a while. Whistler signing off, with a request that everyone say a little prayer for my boots, before you go to bed tonight.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page