top of page
Search

Day 37 Bitter Sweet

Updated: Aug 11, 2018

Today, was a really great day of hiking. Got some great photos early this morning at a couple of the summits. I did 15 miles and am now sitting at Hikers Welcome Hostel which is located at the base of the White Mountains. This summer, I have managed to hike 465 miles and have had a great time. Having said all that, it’s time for me to come off the trail for a couple of weeks. I’ve decided it’s not fair for me to burn the whole summer hiking, when Debbie's home alone for the first summer, in 15 years, when I have weekends off. As she said the other day, the summers go by so fast and there’s never enough time for wine on the front porch, or boat rides on the Hudson. So for now, I’m headed home to relax and enjoy the rest of the summer, to let my body heal and to get my strength back. The lack of calories has been really hard, as my weight loss has been far greater than even I expected. Oh well, good food and rest will do me good. I still plan to do the hundred mile wilderness and Katahdin in September, and the rest of the trail will be here next year. So check in every so often, as I’ll be back soon. Whistler hanging up the poles for now.


85 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


campermotox
Aug 10, 2018

This is great news, I won't have to keep doing your lawn !! just kidding

Like
bottom of page