top of page
Search

Day 10. I survived it

Updated: Jul 14, 2018

Today was an interesting day started out the easiest trail conditions I’ve seen very gentle ups and downs pastures and roads. My plan was 12 miles but I was at the 12 mile point by 1 o’clock so I decided to walk onto the next camp spot which was the camping area not a shelter it was just an easy 7.9 miles except the trail gods had different ideas. The easy 7.9 miles quickly became a nightmare like what happened in New York on my earlier hikes. Steep ups and downs on rocky ledges and cliffs. By about mile 16 I was shot but had no choice but to go on. In addition water has all but disappeared. Streams are either dry or stagnant pools. Thankfully I have both a filter and purification tablets, I used them both today. And I did make it. I have plenty of funky tasting but safe water to drink and cook with. I’m alone in camp so far but I do have my trusty bear whistle to protect me. Tomorrow is a short 13 miles with less elevation change. Good bye Nrw York. Helo New England. Whistler signing off until tomorrow


44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 commentaire


BoatingNana Deb
BoatingNana Deb
14 juil. 2018

Take it easier, tomorrow! Rest, recoup and recover! ❤️😊❤️💋

J'aime
bottom of page