top of page
Search

Day 4- 5/6/22- The monsoons to Baileys Gap —Days are getting better

My legs and shoulders have finally decided to play along, so I was able to make much better miles today. Maybe the cold beer that I found, left by a trail angel helped. It sure tasted good at 730 this morning.


The weather was very iffy with fog and low visibility, so no pictures from the trail. I now have one 4000 foot peak behind me for the year Tonight will test my sleeping bag as the temps will be near freezing, but I had the same last year. No mention of snow up in the mountains yet.


I spent the night in the Baileys Gap Shelter. I hiked the day in rain, fog and virtual zero visibility Forecast for this afternoon is thunderstorms, large hail and tornadoes, just what every hiker looks forward to. I managed to bang out some huge miles today to get to the shelter before the storms. In fact upon arrival I was tempted to walk another 4 miles, but decided not to push it. At that time, around 4 it was just me and another hiker in camp. As the evening progressed, more hikers came seeking shelter By this time the monsoons had started and it rained as hard as I think I’ve ever experienced in the woods, and I weathered a hurricane in ME in 2020. We ended up with 8 people in our 6 person shelter. Cozy, but at least everyone was safe and dry.


Whistler.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page