top of page
Search

Duncannon, here I come

Updated: Jun 6, 2019

Today, is scheduled as a short 12 miles into the town of Duncannon, PA. In this town is the Doyle Hotel, an “institution” on the AT. They have been catering to hikers since the trail opened almost 100 years ago. The hike was an easy one and I was at the Doyle before noon. After checking in, $25 plus tax for my room, I showered, put on clean clothes and headed back down to the restaurant and bar. Being a little hungry after eating out of a pouch for the last 8 days I ordered 2 Guinness beers, an order of jalapeño poppers and a half pound burger, all for a grand total of another $25. I managed to eat everything, but the bun, then upstairs for a nap. Tonight, it will be back downstairs for catfish, beer and maybe a bourbon.


Tomorrow, will be another short day of about 12 miles due to the strange spacing of the shelters. There is a shelter 3 miles out of town, 11 miles out of town, or 30 miles out. Duncannon is almost exactly halfway to Harpers Ferry, so I’m on the downhill slide now.


I’ll check in, again, tomorrow. Whistler out and on the way to the bar.




13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Next time, eat the bun! 😂♥️

Like
bottom of page