top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMike Wilson (Whistler)

Friday- 6/7/24

Updated: Jun 10

Damascus to Abington Shelter


Back to my reality for now. Up early waiting for coffee, it was nice to enjoy the recliner and Duke of Damascus, the B & B’s yellow lab, keeping me company. Coffee at 630, breakfast of eggs, sausage, potatoes and homemade scones, at 730, then put the last few items in the pack before heading out. I weighed my pack, yesterday. It’s 22 pound without food and water. On day one after a resupply the food weighs about 5 pounds and water adds another 4.5. So off into the green tunnel. No shortage of trees to look at, but not much to see. This section is short, 51 miles to Hampton TN. Virginia, was and is, for all the hikers, a mental challenge. It’s 550 miles with lots of climbs, but limited views as you can tell from my lack of pictures. I’m told TN and NC have some great views, but we’ll see when I get there.


Tomorrow is going to be the longest day of this outing at 16 miles. It’s an easy hike, but my hiking partner still struggles with uphill climbs. It may be a very long day of waiting, but we’ll see.


Whistler signing off for today.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page