top of page
Search

7/29/19

Updated: Jul 30, 2019

Speck Mountain to Carlos Col- ⛰ Today, was my grapes of wrath day. It was the best of times and the worst of times. With almost 900 miles of the trail behind me, today was by FAR the hardest day I’ve experienced. I managed to climb the steepest section on the trail and the most difficult section. For anyone who is interested google Mahoosuc Arm and Mahoosuc Notch that and six miles of climbing was my day. There were some spectacular views, especially from the balds. For those who don’t know, a bald is a bare or nearly bare granite peak where you can see forever. The down side is, after you take in the view, you have to go down. And after today, I’m not sure the seat of my shorts will last the next 120 miles, because I spent most of the down hill on my butt, because it was so steep. My other challenge, today, was to keep from bleeding out. I kept using spruce branches as hypodermic needles. Looks bad, but the red was mostly from the sweat mixing in. So, I’m in camp... just finished my second dinner and now it’s time for Whistler to sign off for the night. Tomorrow is another 10 mile day but I’m hoping it’s a little easier on the knees and arms.


36 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


You are amazing! You have remained that same goal setting, determined person I fell in love with so long ago. Be safe and keep the pictures coming. ♥️🥰

Like

tmwawa
Jul 29, 2019

Wishing you an easier day tomorrow, Mike.

Like
bottom of page