top of page
Search

7/31/19

Trident Col tent site to Rattle River Hostel- I‘m recharging my phone, my body and my food supply. Made short work of the 7 miles from camp to the hostel, where after stowing my trekking poles, boots, pack, then taking a shower, they would let me past the mud room. After that, a trip to town to the all you can eat Chinese buffet was the order of the day. Pretty views this morning, with the fog in the valleys, from the thunder storms last night, and a few blue berries. Sadly for now, I’ve dropped too low to find cloud berries. During the trip to the hostel, I noticed a hiker I had met a few days earlier, Cheshire, who was on crutches. Come to find out she had fallen part of the way down the Mahoosuc Arm and was subsequently airlifted out to a local hospital with a suspected fracture of one or more bones. She was taking it well and admitted hanging below the helicopter was “pretty cool” because she could see everything around her. As planned, tomorrow, will be the carter mountain group in preparation to summit Mt. Washington. If the weather cooperates, it should be a great couple of days. If not, I’ll be holed up in a shelter waiting on weather. Stay tuned to see how it goes. For now, Whistler signing off so I can go eat again, and have another Dr Pepper.


27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Emily Madigan
Emily Madigan
Jul 31, 2019

Be careful! We don’t need you going on a helicopter ride!

Like
bottom of page