top of page
Search

8/5- Last climbs before Katahdin


I survived the hurricane in my hammock. The worst of the wind and rain only lasted for several hours, but during that time, I felt more like a tether ball than a hiker. Note to self for future trips, don’t camp in a col between 4K peaks in a hurricane. My stuff is damp, but nothing was truly wet.


I managed 17.1 miles, today, but unfortunately, I missed the first possible view of Katahdin as I was deep in the clouds as I crested the peaks. My campsite for the night was perfect. I found a spot to hang my hammock, next to a cool mountain pool, at the base of Goodman Falls. Had a great night’s sleep and ready to go. I met Beehive at the shelter; he and I would meet again, in future days. My trail family grows.

Whistler signing off, only 59 more miles.







 

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page