top of page
Search

8/8- Rainbow and more Rainbow

A little later start than usual, as I have a couple of short hikes coming up. This is to get to the shelters I want to get to, before my assent of Katahdin. Today’s plan is just 11 miles, almost all of it on the banks of Rainbow Stream, or shore of Rainbow Lake. I hope it’s moderate terrain, but one never knows. I could have done 25 and gotten to Katahdin a day early, but I don’t see a reason to beat myself up if I don’t have to.

Talked to a young south bound hiker who has already done too much too soon. It’s easy when you’re 20 something to walk 20 or 25 miles only then to realize both feet are essentially huge blisters. I gave him a few suggestion and off I went. Great day, good trail and lots of rest. Just 18 miles to the end. Whistler signing off with visions of the final assent swirling in my mind.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page