top of page
Search

April 2021- Day 2 Harpers Ferry to Blackburn Trail Center


Today started a little chilly, 44 degrees, but warmed up quickly. I went from wearing my puffy jacket, to my mid weight hoodie, to my mainstay tee shirt and shorts, and by mid day, even they were too much, as the temps quickly rose into the 80’s. I managed 13 miles, just what I planned, as the first day on the trail is slow and short to let your muscles, joints and feet get their memory of hiking back. There is no amount of walking around home that can duplicate the uneven trail surface with all the roots, rocks and elevation changes. Nothing special in the views, today, but I did spot plenty of deer and hikers. But sadly, no bears. Oh well, I still have 375 more miles to go for this hike. I’m staying at Blackburn trail center which is a cabin and tent sites, owned by the local hiking club. I was early, so I took a bunk which will keep out the bugs and saves me time in packing, in the morning. They have fire pits, picnic tables and best of all, water out of a spigot if I have to filter.






Tomorrow’s hike is taking me through the “roller coaster”. About 14 miles of steep climbs and descents. None of them are big, but they will wear me out. Happy trails, until tomorrow. Whistler signing off.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page