top of page
Search

Day 14. Beating the storms

Updated: Jul 19, 2018

The plan for today was a zero day, in the shelter, due to a forecast of storms, severe weather and flooding. So, of course, I woke to clear blue skies, so off I went. Before the day, here’s some info about the night. I stayed in the shelter, rather than the hammock, due to the expected rain. I stayed dry but carrying the wet hammock adds weight to the pack and lord knows, due to the humidity everything is dripping wet already. At the shelter, were a nice couple with their 7 year old grandson. They are from Sullivan county New York, but are formally of Goshen. They were experienced hikers, out to introduce hiking to Gino. Two other thru hikers, Blueberry and Rooster were there, as well, but left at 0300 this morning to get to town before the storms. Oh, to be young and in a hurry! Then along came Ty and Bruce. They were doing a weeklong adventure on the AT. They are friends from NYC. They weren’t bad guys, they did pack in a six pack of beer that they shared. :-) The first sign that they weren’t too experienced at this hiking stuff, was the folding chairs, followed by them setting up their tent, IN THE SHELTER. Fortunately, there was lots of room. They explained they did this to be protected from bugs and rattle snakes. Then,


during the night, they were up and all concerned about the coyotes they could hear. After I explained it was on owl, they went back to sleep. (Better entertainment than an episode of Roseann.) As for the hike- it was fabulous, as long as you didn’t look down too much. Today, was up, over and along some of the most beautiful mountains since Sean, Wes and I hiked in Hawaii I got trail magic from a nice lady named, Dottie. I got a gallon of water- I didn’t have to filter and two sports drinks. I only had to carry them a half mile, too. Now I’m in a shelter, in Massachusetts, to wait out the storms, and hopefully, say good bye to the humidity for awhile. Well, here’s Whistler signing off, until tomorrow .



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page