top of page
Search

Day 17: Bobblets Gap to Fulhardt Knob Shelter

Well, another year of hiking the AT is almost over for me. I’m sitting in the shelter, again, with all my clothes on because it’s freezing. I certainly didn’t expect Virginia, in mid May, to have near freezing temperatures at night with daytime highs in the 50’s! Sure glad I brought my heavier backpacking sleeping bag. Tomorrow, I’ll literally walk out of the mountains and into civilization where cars, televisions, showers and restaurants will be everywhere. Friday I’ll catch a shuttle to Roanoke and a train home on Saturday.


For tonight, it’s one more mountain house backpackers meal and a cup of Lipton soup. Not a bad meal, even if I did have to carry it for a couple of weeks. It will be a joy to drink water I don’t have to filter and to have a privy without flies and spiders, and one that flushes.

Having said all that, there’s more hiking in my future, because no matter what we have to put up with, it’s where I want to be. More tomorrow from the modern world.

Whistler out.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page