top of page
Search

Day 18: Fulhardt Knob Shelter to Civilization

My trek for the year is over. Today, I did indeed climb down the mountain and back into civilization. It’s nice to be warm, but I will miss the solitude of my walks. I picked up a hiking partner this last week; another section hiker about my age, who was on his first section hike. It‘s hard to remember what it’s like after I’ve hiked a total of 1462 miles, on the AT, but I tried to pass on all of the advice I could. We had a good time sharing our family memories and talking about future hikes and adventures.


As for me, tomorrow, I’ll shuttle to Roanoke to catch an Amtrak train home and with luck the weather will warm and my summer of boating and remodeling the “Heartland House” can begin. I’m ready to return, but I already miss my place in the mountains.

Until my next great adventure, whatever that might be, Whistler out.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page