top of page
Search

Day 27. Beat up and feeling it

Updated: Aug 2, 2018

For the last three weeks, I’ve been surrounded by a “bubble“ of hikers in their 20’s, who are focused on only one thing and that’s booking big miles. With them all around, I find the urge to do bigger days than I need to, or planned to do. Because of this, the lack of food and rest are catching up with me. I’d planned a 20 mike day, but in the end, I could only manage about 14. It was an especially tough 14, due to the terrain and my state, but I got it done. Today, I was joined by a friend who wanted to hike up and over Killington Ski Mountain. He was kind enough to meet me at a shelter and brought me a sandwich to help with my hunger. It turned out to be a great night in camp. I had a Stewart’s sub sandwich to supplement my backpackers meal. Better than that, there were a few hikers and a train crew in camp; they were constructing a new privy. One of the crew was a through hiker named Mud Elephant who had completed his hike 22 years ago. The stories and trail lore were great and the bottle of Jim Beam and Wild Turkey, didn’t hurt a bit either. Everyone stayed up late as we couldn’t get enough of the bourbon, or the stories, but it was worth it. Tomorrow is a big day with Killington in front of us, can’t wait. Whistler signing off until tomorrow


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page