top of page
Search

Day 5: Whiskey Hollow to Front Royal

As promised, the weather changed in the night. A front moved through bringing with it much cooler weather. I awoke to 40 degree temps and moderate breezes. The breezes, however, grew into high winds by mid day with gusts up to 50mph. It adds an extra measure of immediacy, to your gait, when you’re being showered by tree branches from above and the sound of falling trees surrounds you.


Needless to say I survived and made it to, Front Royal, where I’m spending the night. I managed to score dinner and a couple of beers and am now organizing my pack for tomorrow’s hike out. In the next day, or two, I’ll be entering the Shenandoah Park where I’m sure there will be a day hiker behind every tree, but that’s okay as it’s great to see everyone enjoying the trail and as they say, "I don’t have to be the fastest runner to out run a hungry bear, I just can’t be the slowest."


Signing off and shutting down for the night.

Whistler out.




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page