top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMike Wilson (Whistler)

Day 7- 5/8/22- Rice Field Shelter to Home

Morning broke with no visibility again, but at least for now, the rain and wind had stopped. As expected, nothing dried overnight, but given time it will. I made the decision to pack it in early this year. It was a tough decision in some ways, as I was feeling really good. My legs were back with the program and the pack felt comfortable. But having plenty of time to think, I realized there were more important things this year than the AT.

I’ve been traveling monthly to Iowa, the boat‘s in the water and needs attention, we’re preparing for a move to Iowa and I feel I’ve neglected my bride. And besides, she says she’ll finish the trail with me, so I won’t be alone on the last 600 miles.


Having made the decision, I got a shuttle to Roanoke and started to work on transportation. Didn’t plan on multiple college graduations and Mother’s Day taking up almost all the seats out of town. I found a couple of options and I’ll be home tomorrow, Monday night.


Thanks for following. I will have more hiking blogs in the future and maybe a few other adventures.


Whistler signing off, for now.




25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page