top of page
Search

Day 7: Gravel Springs to Byrds Nest #3

Started early. That was my plan, but I didn’t expect the NOBOs to start getting ready at 4am. Between that and the ok’d, pot smoking guy, who snored all night, there wasn’t much rest for Whistler. Oh well, I was on the trail by 6:10am, headed south, with 18 miles in my sights.


The weather started out great, cool and a nice breeze, until around 9 when the sauna moved back in. Hot, humid and to make it worse, no water along the trail. I managed to find a wayside and had a sandwich and chips, along with two iced coffee drinks from breakfast. I also bought a wrap for lunch. The day continued to get hotter, but up hill I went until finally reaching camp around 3pm. When I got here, there was another SOBO hiker who had managed 4 miles, and wasn’t sure if he was moving on or not. I think he must have, because he’s no where to be found, as I write this.


Tomorrow is another day of climbs, although not as big as today. I hope to get into camp by 2, or so, as the place I’m staying at has a restaurant. Rain tomorrow, but I guess that’s okay, as everything needs a bath including me.


Whistler signing off until tomorrow.






17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page