top of page
Search

Day 8. Filling the gap

Today, I filled the gap, hiking from Vernon NJ to Warwick Turnpike. The highlight of the 5.5 miles was to be at the Stairway to Heaven. This is a 1000 foot climb in the first mile of the day. I dropped my truck at the north end and Debbie ferried me to the start. Immediately, I was disappointed as I realized I’d left my phone/camera in my truck. Oh well, off I went. Up over, the now familiar rocks on top of rocks, of NJ/NY. As I climbed I waited for the views that I was going to miss capturing on my forgotten camera. As I crested the climb, it became evident the “Stairway” wasn’t about the view, but the sweat getting there. The rest of the hike was of easy ups and downs Two hours later, I was back at my truck and headed home. Home to repack and get set for the long walk from Stormville to Maine.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page